The day hike

The late afternoon light was lowering and the intense heat had not yet lifted as we followed the steep trail down to the river. As we descended, my thoughts rose up and out of me, lifting up into the canopy above. The trees had answered some silent call to draw it all out, leaving nothing left in its place but endless space.

Space as translucent as the ocean of green all around me and as fluent as the river below. A Space flowing with the water over dark green boulders and into deep rock pools and out into the screaming light of the falls.

A Space dissolving into nothingness in the clear bright air. Time had slowed down and I could feel my heart beating faintly below. I felt a warm breeze passing right through my body and, for what seemed like a long drawn out pause, there was an infinite stillness and all things felt connected.

Leave a Reply

